Witch’s Pyre (Worldwalker #3)

Witch's Pyre (Worldwalker, #3)Witch’s Pyre by Josephine Angelini
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Author: Josephine Angelini
Genre: YA
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Year of Publication: 2016

Overall Series Rating: 3/5 The first book was the best, and I kept reading hoping the series would turn out as well as the first book. I’m sorry to say my hopes were too high.
Main Character: Lily—I started liking her again in this book. If I could change one thing about her, though, I would have her think things through a little more thoroughly.
Secondary Characters: Toshi was the only secondary character I truly liked in this book, and that includes the characters from the previous two books.
Pacing: This one was kind of slow. The plot and the idea were actually perfect, but I feel like it could have been developed better. A good portion of the book could have been condensed without losing anything vital.
Accuracy of Publisher’s Synopsis: The inside cover gives such a vague idea of what the book is actually about. The part about Lillian’s way being the only way is not true at all.
Resolution: The buildup to the battle was huge, but when the main action finally came, it was disjointed and vague. I needed a little more to the end of the book than just Lily walking into Bower City. For instance, which world did Samantha and Juliet end up staying in? What happened to everyone in Bower City, especially Toshi’s family? Did the tunnel people and the Outlanders stay in the west? And where did the Hive go? I could have used another chapter to wrap all that up.

The Good: We actually got to the battle I’ve been waiting for! Finally, the mystery of the Woven was solved and Lily risked losing her entire coven and the war against Grace to do things the right way, distinguishing herself from Lillian. I appreciated that it was not an easy road, even though some of the problems faced were a little petty and could have been avoided. Rowan and Lily made up, albeit in the last chapter with very little exchange between them, but they did it. It only happened after Tristan shared a memory from Lily’s Tristan about what really happened when they rescued Lily from the Outlanders. And at long last, Rowan and Lillian were face to face! They finally got to discuss Rowan’s father and her reasoning for hanging him. However, I didn’t get the reaction from Rowan I was hoping for. I mean…I technically got everything I wanted, but it still somehow felt like a letdown, which I don’t understand.

The Bad: All of the inconsistencies that were just annoying in the first book were magnified in this book. It was exhausting to keep up with all of the new rules that Angelini seemed to devise on the fly. *Spoiler Alert* When was it ever stated that when a witch dies, she explodes and all of her claimed die with her? I feel like that was something that could have been explained more than a paragraph before Lillian went up in a giant fireball. * End Spoiler Alert* I think my phobia of bees really did me a disservice in reading this last book. Just reading about the Hive attaching themselves to people constantly was enough to make my skin crawl. Also, I got annoyed with Lily’s claimed being so up in arms about being possessed. It wasn’t like Lily did it maliciously; she was trying to save their lives. But even until the end, I found my interest wavering. I actually set the book down with fifteen pages to go and didn’t pick it up again until the next night.

Overall Impression: I just can’t say that this book was as good as the first one, although it was a little more interesting than the second. It was disorganized to a distracting level and less pleasurable to read. In essence, everything ended as it should have, but the execution of every plot point was lacking excitement and frankly, befuddling.

Would I recommend this series? I wouldn’t tell anyone not to read it…but I wouldn’t tell anyone to run out and buy all the books.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

